Press Track Events Points Rules media.html Gear Sponsors Contact
.: April 21st, 2018 :.

Diet Mt. Dew Modifieds

Super Street


Sports Mod

Camping World Pure Stock


Watkins Conquers Fayetteville’s Fast & Furious 40

1(Fayetteville, NC) With a hungry pack of charging racers behind him, Ben Watkins held off a hard charge from Shaun Harrell to earn a $3000 payday at Fayetteville Motor Speedway and his 2nd consecutive FUEL Racing Series win of 2018.

A field of 24 late models entered Renegade Race Fuels Time Trials where Watkins would post the fastest overall time with a lap of 16.771 seconds. That lap would also be quick enough to break the former FUEL Pole Record for Fayetteville Motor Speedway ironically set by Watkins himself at 17.409 just last season.

In Hoosier Racing Tire Heat Race 1, Watkins would grab the early advantage but a hard charging Willie Milliken would stress the fast qualifier for the duration of the heat race. In the end, Watkins would prevail and earn the pole position for the 40 Lap Main Event. FK Rod Ends Heat Race 2 opened up with Zach Cox making a powerful and daring 3 wide move on the opening lap to snatch the lead away from Robbie Emory and Zach Blackwell. Cox would hold his challengers at bay the rest of the way and earn the #2 starting position in the feature. City Chevrolet Performance Heat Race 3 featured Shaun Harrell flexing his muscle and local prowess as he led flag to flag over Ethan Wilson and Derrick Ramey to complete the main event starting lineup.

In The Direct Racing Industry Virtual Expo Main Event, Watkins would lead the field to the green for the 2nd consecutive race. As Watkins paced the field early, Harrell and Milliken battled intensely before mechanical troubles plagued Milliken ending his chances to challenge for the win. While Harrell continued his pursuit of the race leader, Emory and Cox turned up the heat while Dustin Mitchell began a march towards the Top 5 from his 12th starting position. As the laps clicked away, Harrell mounted one final charge but would ultimately be denied as Watkins would score his 3rd career FUEL Racing Series victory.

Up next for the FUEL Racing Series is our ‪May 5th‬ visit to Friendship Motor Speedway in Elkin, NC. For more information on the FUEL Racing Series visit our website

, find us on Facebook (FUEL Racing Series) and follow us on Twitter (@FuelLateModels).

Partners of the FUEL Racing Series include: City Chevrolet Performance, FK Rod Ends, Renegade Race Fuels, Hoosier Racing Tire, The DRIVE Expo, and Flag to Flag.

The DRIVE Main Event Results
(Pending Tire Test Results)

Ben Watkins
Shaun Harrell
Robbie Emory
Zach Cox
Dustin Mitchell
Mark Dysart
Derrick Ramey
Chuck Smith
Brandon Haley
Brandon White
John O’Donnell
Brad Rigdon
Shawn Sewell
Willie Milliken
Travis Stoner
Mike Mason
Tim Neighbors
Ethan Wilson
Zach Blackwell
Michael Batten
Woody Cromartie
Dykes Maynard
Steve Banal

Renegade Racing Fuel-Ford’s Fuel South East Master Distributor Fast Time Award: Ben Watkins 16.771

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat Race 1 Winner: Ben Watkins

FK Rod Ends Heat Race 2 Winner: Zack Cox

City Chevrolet Performance Heat Race 3 Winner: Shaun Harrell